Volunteer for AFPSEWI



Joining a committee (or two) was the best AFP decision I made, I was struggling to connect with people at educational luncheons and/or stay connected with my tablemates after the luncheon ended. The marketing and education committees have both provided me with a strong network of people that I can call on to problem-solve with, share the joy of my success and commiserate when we’re struggling together. Fundraising can be a very isolating journey, AFP has brought me out of the isolation and into the joy.

- Julie Cordero, Executive Director, Milwaukee Tennis & Education Foundation, AFPSEWI VP of Education




AFP leaders featured in MKE Lifestyle magazine November 2018

Getting involved as a chapter leader is one of the best ways to increase the value of your membership.  The heart of AFP SEWI’s work is done through committees. Joining a committee is a great way to meet your peers, network, and enhance your leadership skills. With your voice at the table, there’s so much more we can achieve. There are many ways to get involved, with flexible time commitments. 


Education committee members at registration table handing our name tags

Thank you to all of our hard-working 2020-2021 committee members listed below for all they do to support our community, our profession, and ethical and effective fundraising. 

Interested in joining a committee? Learn more below then contact us, there is room at the table for everyone!




Coordinates educational sessions for the chapter, including presentations at membership meetings, small groups, webinars, and mentoring.  Help us present the best educational workshops for our membership by joining this committee.

Committee Members Include:

  • Heather Willette, Grant Writer, Bethesda Lutheran Communities, Chair
  • Jennifer Charpentier, CFRE, Executive Director, Gateway Technical College Foundation
  • Julie Cordero, Executive Director, Milwaukee Tennis Education Foundation
  • Paige Jorgensen, Fundraising Professional
  • Nancy Seidl Nelson, CFRE, Principal, SPI Consulting, LLC
  • Amy Rowell, Development Director, Guest House of Milwaukee
  • Shannon Watry, CFRE, Senior Director of Advancement, Cristo Rey Jesuit High School

Elevates the Southeastern WI area's culture of philanthropy.  Coordinates and supports communicating key messages to the chapter membership and general public via the chapter website, social media, and monthly chapter updates.

Committee Members Include:

  • Leona Knobloch, Development Officer, Ozaukee Washington Land Trust, Committee Chair
  • Amy Blumenthal, CFRE, Vice President, Ter Molen Watkins & Brandt
  • Doug Diefenbach, Principal, Diefenbach Communications Strategies
  • Beth Maresh, Philanthropic Advisor, Wisconsin Humane Society
  • Jayne Pfeifer, Business Development Manager, Badger Group
  • Sarah Robinson, Communications & Marketing Specialist, St. Joseph Academy
  • Ellen Wilkinson, Director of Administration, St. Anthony School

This committee is involved in the identification/recruitment of potential new members and the implementation of networking activities for the membership.  It is also responsible for new member orientation and following up with lapsed members.  If you are a “people person” this is the committee for you!

Committee Members Include:

  • Rikki Harry, CFRE, Senior Manager of Individual Giving, Pathfinders, Committee Chair
  • Lisa Breitsprecker, CFRE, Senior Development Officer, Mt. Mary University
  • Bridgett Brown, Development Coordinator, Lad Lake, I.D.E.A. Committee Co-chair
  • Jean Gurney, CFRE, Owner, Jean Gurney & Company LLC, I.D.E.A. Committee
  • Joe Maddalena, CFRE, Director of Foundation Relations, UW-Milwaukee, I.D.E.A. Committee Co-chair
  • Becca Surges, Development and Communications Leader, St. Vincent DePaul of Milwaukee

Help stage the annual National Philanthropy Day Luncheon.  Held during National Philanthropy Week, this high profile event is growing every year.  This even provides a unique opportunity to celebrate the role of philanthropy in our community by honoring top individual, corporate, foundation, and planned gift donors.  There is also an award for a fundraising professional.

Committee Members Include:

  • Elizabeth O'Hara, Major Gifts Officer, Alverno College, Committee Co-chair
  • Amanda Stahmann, Marketing & Development Manager, Life Navigators, Committee Co-chair
  • Jessi Bauer-Phillps, Owner, JBP Solutions, LLC
  • Amy Blumenthal, CFRE, Vice President, Ter Molen Watkins & Brandt
  • Jonathan Lord, Chief Development Officer, Milwaukee PBS
  • Hannah Offerman, Foundation and Corporate Giving Manager, Prevent Blindness Wisconsin
  • Sarah Robinson, Communications & Marketing Specialist, St. Joseph Academy

Promotes the availability of scholarships to support members’ participation in professional development programs, and reviews and acts on member applications for scholarships.

Committee Members Include:

  • Bridget Lafferty, IndependenceFirst, Grants Coordinator, Committee Chair
  • Carolyn Hahn, Director of Communications, Wisconsin Parkinson Association
  • Scott Marshall, Director of Development and Communications, Feeding America Eastern Wisconsin
  • Heather Uzowulu, Development Director, Eras Senior Network


Not all of our chapter's member benefit activities require a committee. Thank you to our other chapter leaders.

  • Elizabeth O'Hara, Alverno College, Major Gifts Officer, Emerging Professionals Special Interest Group Host
  • Patrick Synder, BizStarts, Executive Director, Mentoring Program
  • Michele Weinscrott, UW-Milwaukee College of Nursing & Joseph J. Zilber School of Public Health, Director of Development, Seasoned Professionals Special Interest Group Host
  • Michael Wos, Professional Fire Fighters of Wisconsin Charitable Foundation, Executive Director, Grant Writers Special Interest Group Host